The movie that made me win

(Finally some good news in the fag end of the year. I won myself a LG Chocolate mobile for this entry. It was for a contest in CNN-IBN’s movie show ‘Now Showing’, hosted by the king of critics Rajeev Masand. You had to write about the one movie you’re never tired of watching, in under 200 words (which was the biggest challenge). And the most personal and articulate entry wins.

This was mine.)

Jaane bhi do yaaro

This film gives me immense hope that lunacy and idiocy have a purpose. I work in advertising, and for years I was facing an existential crisis, wondering if my weirdo ideas could ever find a purpose.

Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron gives every madman the confidence that somewhere beneath his stupidity lies genius.

Which is probably why it makes me return to it each time I feel lost and suffocated in the company of  intellectuals, who defeat you with their superior weapon called logic.

It makes me feel at home, in the company of fools. Or people I’d call fearless heroes, who are unwilling to sacrifice the charm of their spontaneity by trying to seek sense in everything they do or say.

The more I see it, the more I’m convinced that you don’t have to have answers to every question.

This film is one of a kind, and nobody can tell exactly why it works.

I don’t want to ruin my experience by trying to analyse that. Not even for a Rs 30,000 prize.

4 Comments

  1. Awesome! Congrats…

    Like

  2. Great! Congrats!

    Like

  3. Great reading this, I think I remember watching this one particular episode where they aired this entry. Incidentally I came here to your blog through WordPress’ automatic suggestion through here: http://southasiadaily.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/jaane-bhi-do-yaaro-the-making-of-a-political-film-disguised-as-comedy/ which talks about a recent book on JBDY that celebrates all the zaniness that you have mentioned but also, a t the same time, analyses it without, IMO ruining it. I have read the book (in fact finished reading it in one night) even though I didn’t like the movie that much itself. I suggest you go ahead and give the book a try. It’s written by Jai Arjun Singh of jabberwock.blogspot.com a hugely popular cinema and literature writer.

    Like

  4. thnks aniket for dropping by
    yes. i have heard about the book. am dying to get a copy of it. thanks for informing me though. and keep coming.

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

